Freemasonry Structure

You are here

Structure of Freemasonry

Summary of the houses in Freemasonry

Masonic Lodge

The Masonic Lodge otherwise known as `Blue Lodge´, is the center of activity from which all other Masonic organizations spring. The single highest Masonic authority within the Virgin Islands is the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge, Free & Accepted Masons, Virgin Islands and Its Jurisdiction. Below, we have provided brief introductions to some of the Masonic affiliated bodies which are active in the Virgin Islands. We encourage you to ask questions and explore for yourself the many faces of Freemasonry represented by these organizations.

Grand Royal Arch Chapter

The Holy Royal Arch Grand Chapter of the Virgin Islands provides the Master Mason with further opportunities for personal improvement. The Grand Chapter uses biblical allegories to extend and complete the many facets of the Master Mason degree. Through their many charities, the Royal Arch Masons exemplify the tenets of Brotherly Love, Relief, and Truth in their daily lives.

Councils of Cryptic Masons

Councils of Cryptic Masons form the center of the York Rite of Freemasonry. A Master Mason may join a Chapter of Royal Arch Masons and receive the four degrees of that organization. After which he may seek further knowledge in Freemasonry and join the Council of Cryptic Masons. Ancient Craft Masonry centers around the story of the preservation, loss and recovery of the Word. The Word represents man’s search for life’s purpose and the nature of God. Symbolic Freemasonry, as in Lodge, teaches of the loss of the Word and hope for its recovery. Royal Arch Masonry, as in the Chapter, teaches of its recovery. Cryptic Masonry, as in the Council, completes this story by teaching of the Word’s initial preservation. There are mainly two degrees in Council, they being the Royal Master and the Select Master Mason degrees, with an additional Super Excellent Master Degree not being compulsory.

Commandery of Knights Templar

The Commandery of Knights Templar is founded upon the Christian Religion and the practice of Christian virtues. A Commandery confers three Orders (degrees): The Illustrious Order of the Red Cross, the Order of Malta, and the Order of the Temple. The Masonic Orders of the Temple and Malta are founded upon the traditions of the Chivalric Orders of Knighthood of the middle ages, and the Rite has therefore acquired the title of Chivalric Masonry. The Orders of Malta and the Temple are entirely based upon the ethical, moral, and spiritual concepts for a well governed life.

Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry provides Master Masons with further exemplification of the tenets taught in the Blue Lodge degrees. Prince Hall Masons in the Virgin Islands are affiliated with the United Supreme Council, 33⁰ of the Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, Prince Hall Affiliation, Southern Jurisdiction, U.S.A. In the United States, the Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite covers the 4th degree to the 33rd degree. The 33rd degree is an honorary degree bestowed on Scottish Rite Masons who have made significant contributions to Masonry and their communities, and who exemplify the principles of the Brotherhood of Man, under the Fatherhood of God.

Order of the Eastern Star

The Order of the Eastern Star is the largest fraternal organization in the world to which both men and women belong. With over 1 million members worldwide, it is dedicated to the principals of truth, kindness, and charity. he order is based on teachings from the Bible, but it remains open to people of all religious faiths.

Ancient Egyptian Arabic Order, Nobles Mystic Shrine, Inc.,

Ancient Egyptian Arabic Order, Nobles Mystic Shrine, Inc., )"AEAONMS") or Imperial Council Prince Hall Masons are proud members of the oldest and largest benevolent fraternity in the world. People know us by our trademark Fez, our presence at parades, and hospital visits and other charities. But not many people outside of the Shrine know of our origins. Here’s a LINK to the "A.E.A.O.N.M.S." web site.

The Order of Golden Circle

Founded in 1908, the Order of Golden Circle is an auxiliary organization of the United Supreme Council of Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, Prince Hall Affiliate. Members of the Order do charitable work in the community and in hospitals, by providing to the sick.

Imperial Court (Daughters)

The Imperial Courty is the female auxiliary organization to the A.E.A.O.N.M.S., P.H.A. The purpose of the organization unite members into one common bond of friendship, to practice charity and benevolence, and to inculcate honor and integrity as symbolized in the legend of the Egyptian queen, the goddess Isis. For more information please visit the Imperial Court site.

Heroines of Jericho

The Heroines of Jericho is an androgynous degree conferred to Royal Arch Masons, their wives, mothers, widows, sisters and daughters. The court derives its name from a biblical heroine of Jericho known as Rahab, who hid Israelite spies from the soldiers and thus kept her family safe when the walls of Jericho fell. The purpose of the organization is help the destitute widows and the helpless orphans; to relieve worthy distressed female travelers.


Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of the Virgin Islands and Its Jurisdiction, Free & Accepted Masons, covers all the Virgin Islands.


About  |   Login  |  Events  FormsLinks